The Cupcake Mafia!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Cupcake Mafia!

We're awesome! Join us & be awesome too!

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Licensed Aesthetician!

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
xandypants

xandypants

Number of posts : 42
Name : Alex
Registration date : 2011-06-23

Licensed Aesthetician! Empty
PostSubject: Licensed Aesthetician!   Licensed Aesthetician! EmptySat Jul 16, 2011 10:36 am

I'm currently a full-time student at a 4-year university for my BS (well, not right now because it's summer), but I want to be a licensed aesthetician as well. I don't want to put my degree-granting education on hold, so I was wondering if any of you ladies knew if it was possible to get an aesthetician license by doing summer classes exclusively.

Edit: Recommendations of reputable beauty schools would also be greatly appreciated! Thanks! :]
Back to top Go down
Jayme

Jayme

Number of posts : 3277
Name : Jamie
Registration date : 2007-06-24

PostSubject: Re: Licensed Aesthetician!   Licensed Aesthetician! EmptySat Jul 16, 2011 6:54 pm

You're going to have your hands full. The programs are based on hours, so you need x amount of hours in order to graduate, and then you need to take your states board exams in order to be officially licensed. In MI you need 600 hours(approx 10-15 months), and in Illinois you need 750, no idea about New England. I have no idea of any good esti schools in New England, but the cosmetology school I went to offered esti classes as well. So if I were you I'd start by looking for really accredited cosmetology schools and seeing if they have anything. The school I went to also offered night classes, it causes your program to be a little longer, but it may benefit you to find something like that while going to school.
Back to top Go down
http://cat-nose.tumblr.com/
PolyphonicThought

Number of posts : 13575
Name : Puff